by Holly Goldberg Sloan

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.
 
Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

Counting by 7s

$16.99Price
  • About The Author Holly Goldberg Sloan, the acclaimed author of I’ll Be There, was born in Ann Arbor, Michigan and spent her childhood living in Holland, Istanbul, Turkey, Washington DC, Berkeley, California and Eugene, Oregon. After graduating from Wellesley College and spending some time as an advertising copywriter, she began writing and directing family feature films, including Angels in the Outfield and Made in America. The mother of two sons, Holly lives with her husband in Santa Monica, California. ISBN-13: 9780803738553 Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group Publication date: 9/16/2014 Edition description: Hardcover Pages: 380 Age range: 10 years Family | Orphans & Foster Homes - Juvenile Fiction | School & Education -Eccentrics and eccentricities -High schools -Schools -Orphans -Genius Awards: Bluebonnet Awards | Nominee | Children's | 2015 - 2015 ; E.B. White Read Aloud Award | Honor Book | Middle Readers | 2014 - 2014 ; Kentucky Bluegrass Award | Nominee | Grades 6-8 | 2015 - 2015 ; Black-Eyed Susan Award | Nominee | Grades 6-9 | 2014 - 2015 ; Capitol Choices: Noteworthy Books for Children and Teens | Recommended | Ten to Fourteen | 2014 - 2014 ; Great Stone Face Book Award | Nominee | Grades 4-6 | 2014 - 2015 ; Isinglass Teen Read Award | Nominee | Grades 6-8 | 2014 - 2015 ; Keystone to Reading Book Award | Nominee | Middle School | 2015 - 2015 ; Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award | Nominee | Children's | 2015 - 2015 ; Buckeye Children's Book Award | Nominee | Grades 6-8 | 2014 - 2014 ; Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award | Nominee | Grades 6-8 | 2015 - 2015 ; Rhode Island Teen Book Award | Nominee | Ages 12 & Up | 2015 - 2015 ; Grand Canyon Reader Award | Nominee | Tween | 2016 - 2016 ; Georgia Children's Book Award | Nominee | Children's Book | 2015 - 2015 ; Rebecca Caudill Young Readers Book Award | Nominee | Grades 4-8 | 2016 - 2016 ; Beehive Awards | Nominee | Young Adult | 2016 - 2016 ; North Carolina Children's Book Award |

© 2016 ¡Ay Caramba! - Demand the Best! Books, Gifts and More.....