top of page
by Arthur Dorros, Rudy Gutierrez (Illustrator) 

In Papá and Me, a young boy and his papa may speak both Spanish and English, but the most important language they speak is the language of love. In this beautiful bilingual picture book, Arthur Dorros portrays the close bond between father and son, with lush paintings by Rudy Gutierrez. Fans of Abuelo; Abuela; and La Isla will be thrilled by this multi-generational picture book that emphasizes the overall message of love between a parent and child.

Papá and Me

SKU: 9780060581565
$16.99 Regular Price
$15.99Sale Price
  • Arthur Dorros views being a writer like being a traveling detective. He finds ideas all around. He learned Spanish while living in Latin America, and many of his stories, such as Abuelo, grow from those experiences. Arthur is the author of many books for children, including Julio's Magic, a CLASP Américas Award Commended Title; Papá and Me, a Pura Belpré Honor Book. He lives in Seattle, Washington.

     

    Rudy Gutierrez spent many days playing stickball and cards with his father and listening to stories about his life. Rudy's memories of his dad's character, honesty, and optimism inspired his illustrations in this book. Rudy teaches at the Pratt Institute. He received a Gold Medal from the Society of Illustrators and was commissioned to do art for the acclaimed Santana Shaman CD cover. He also illustrated Malcolm X, an ALA Notable Children's Book. Rudy lives in Bogota, New Jersey.

  • ISBN-13: 9780060581565
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    Publication date: 04/22/2008
    Series:    Pura Belpre Honor Books - Illustration Honor
    Edition description: Bilingual: English and Spanish
    Pages: 32
    Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

     

    - Family | Parents  - Emotions & Feelings
    - Hispanic & Latino  - Fathers and sons
    - Hispanic Americans  - Father's Day

bottom of page