by Angeline Boulley

 

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

 

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

 

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground.

 

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” —Good Morning America

 

Amazon's Best YA Book of 2021 So Far

A 2021 Kids' Indie Next List Selection
An Entertainment Weekly Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Selection
A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection

 

With four starred reviews, Angeline Boulley's debut novel, Firekeeper's Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, perfect for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

 

Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team.

 

Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug.

 

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims.

 

Now, as the deceptions—and deaths—keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

Firekeeper's Daughter

SKU: 9781250766564
$18.99Price
  • Angeline Boulley, an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, is a storyteller who writes about her Ojibwe community in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. She is a former Director of the Office of Indian Education at the U.S. Department of Education. Angeline lives in southwest Michigan, but her home will always be on Sugar Island. Firekeeper's Daughter is her debut novel.
     

  • ISBN-13: 9781250766564
    Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
    Publication date: 03/16/2021
    Pages: 496
    Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 9.20(h) x 1.80(d)
    Age Range: 14 - 18 Years

    BISAC Categories:
    - Young Adult Fiction | Thrillers & Suspense | General
    - Young Adult Fiction | People & Places | Indigenous
    - Young Adult Fiction | Social Themes | Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse
    - Young Adult Fiction | Social Themes | Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
    -Indians of North America    -Family life
    -Drugs    -Crime
    -Undercover operations    -Ojibwa Indians
    -Caregivers    -Racially mixed people
    -Michigan    -Families    

    - Ethnic Orientation | Native American
    - Religious Orientation | Native American
    Expertly CuratedExpertly Curated Lists
    #ownvoices Teen Fiction
    Indigenous Peoples Teen Fiction
    Our Favorite Covers of 2021
    Teen Greatest HITS March 2021
    Teen HITS March 2021