top of page

Elton John has always fancied himself a big-theme album artist, but because even his finest albums are spotty, his best moments, with few exceptions, have been singles. Greatest Hits collects nine of them from '70 to '74, plus one of those exceptions, the stirring faux-gospel "Border Song." If you overlook the weightless "Crocodile Rock" and the contrived "Your Song," this album shows why John is a superstar, especially on the big ballads, where collaborator Bernie Taupin supplies some interesting lyrics for his impeccable melodic hooks. The ethereal "Rocket Man" is a marvel despite its goofy premise, and "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me" remains the greatest pop moment of John's career. 


  1. Your Song
  2. Daniel
  3. Honky Cat
  4. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  5. Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting
  6. Rocket Man
  7. Bennie And The Jets
  8. Candle In The Wind
  9. Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me
  10. Border Song
  11. Crocodile Rock

Elton John : Greatest Hits

SKU: B000001DVP
  • Audio CD (October 20, 1992)
    Number of Discs: 1
    Format: Original recording reissued
    Label: Polydor

    Gently Used


    - rock

bottom of page